Cake Mix Blondies

2014-02-05 19.33.29

So…I don’t normally use cake mixes when I bake. But seeing as I haven’t baked in ages I figured I could cheat a little bit today. I found this recipe at Sally’s Baking Addiction via Pinterest of course. They were as easy to make as she promised, although hers turned out WAY prettier than mine did! I only made a couple of slight changes to the recipe.

What you need:

  • Yellow cake mix
  • 1/4 cup vegetable oil/canola oil
  • 1 egg
  • 1/3-1/2 cup of milk
  • 1/2 sprinkles
  • 3/4 cup chocolate chips (original recipe calls for white and 1/2 cup, I used milk chocolate)

2014-02-05 17.03.08

What to do:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. In a mixing bowl, mix cake mix, oil, egg and milk.

2014-02-05 17.07.24 2014-02-05 17.13.56

2. Add chocolate chips and sprinkles. Oliver was actually shaking in anticipation when it came to the sprinkles. 🙂

2014-02-05 17.14.23 2014-02-05 17.15.30

3. Coat a baking dish and “pour” batter in. I put “pour” in quotations because mine was really thick and needed to be coaxed in. The original recipe said the less milk the better but maybe I should’ve added more. I used an 8″x8″ dish or you can use 7″x11″.

4. Bake for 25-30 min until edges are golden brown and then let them set for 30 min.

2014-02-05 17.53.57

I found that mine were still a little bit gooier in the middle than the ones from Sally’s Baking Addiction, even after letting them sit. However, I don’t consider this a bad thing. 😉

They are pretty tasty. I confess that I’ve never had a blondie before so I don’t have a basis of comparison. The great thing about this recipe is that it’s so quick and easy for the kids to help with. You could also try it with different mixes. Mmmm…I see red velvet cake mix in my near future…

 

Leave a Reply

