DIY Animal Christmas Tree Ornaments

2013-12-14 16.21.41 2013-12-14 16.11.15

So I was in Target and I saw these really cute Christmas ornaments and I thought…hey I can make those! Here’s a picture of the ornaments that I copied from.

2013-11-04 16.22.12

To make these you’ll need:

  • wooden disc (I found these at DeSerres for $1. I think maybe they’re meant to be coasters)
  • acrylic paint ($2 at Dollar Store)
  • paint brushes
  • twine
  • glue gun
  • Sharpie (optional)
  • clear coat spray (optional)

What to do:

1. First draw an outline of the animal face lightly on the wooden disc in pencil.

2. Then start painting!

2013-12-14 14.20.31

3. After I finished painting I outlined the lines with a black Sharpie, which I think helped make the face stand out a little more.

4. Then use a glue gun to glue some twine on the back.

2013-12-14 16.17.55

5. Optional: You could seal it with a clear coat spray or maybe even glossy Modge Podge. I haven’t sealed these yet. I’m not sure if I want them to be glossy.

This would be a great craft for older kids to do. You can make the faces as simple or as detailed as you want and they don’t really require a lot of artistic talent.

Or…you could just buy the ornaments at Target for three bucks. LOL. Either way, they’re pretty cute on the tree!

 

2 thoughts on “DIY Animal Christmas Tree Ornaments

Leave a Reply

