DIY Duvet Cover for a Toddler Bed

IMG_5194 IMG_5195

Now that it’s getting colder, Oliver needs something more than his muslin blanket at night. I happened to find a Thomas the Tank Engine sheet set at a thrift store but it’s for a twin bed and Oliver is using just a little toddler bed. So I figured why turn it into a duvet cover? I found a tutorial from Martha Stewart which inspired this “lazy mom” version.

Here’s what you need:

  • 2 pieces of material large enough to cover your duvet (the duvet I used is 49″ x 43″. I used the Thomas sheet for one side and a fleece blanket for the other)
  • scissors and pins
  • a sewing machine

Here’s what you do:

1. Spread your sheet out on the floor and put the duvet on top.

IMG_5192

2. Cut the material to fit the duvet leaving approximately 2 inches on each side. I lined it up with two of the finished sides of the sheet so that I would only have to cut 2 sides. I used the grout lines on the kitchen floor to keep my cuts straight. Repeat with the other piece of material for the back of the duvet cover.

IMG_5193

3. Now pin the two pieces of material, inside out and sew along three edges.

4. I didn’t do anything fancy for the bottom. I just sewed across from the corners toward the middle, leaving about 6-8 inches open in order to turn the cover right side out and to leave a space to put the duvet inside. You could finish this off with buttons or snaps (the arrow below points to the opening).

IMG_5197 copy

So that’s it. This is definitely a lazy, easy way to make a duvet cover. But hey, it works! Oliver loves it of course. And I like that the fleecy backing will keep him warm at night. Now I just have to figure out what to do with the leftover Thomas material. Hmmm…I’m thinking Modge Podge…I’m thinking canvases… 🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

