Super Food Salad: Kale and Brussels Sprouts

20130903_190238

This is one of the best salads that I’ve had in awhile. I know what you’re thinking, “Brussels sprouts? Yuck!” I even debated putting “Brussels sprouts” in the title in case that frightens people off. But honestly this is such an easy and tasty way of eating them. Brussels sprouts get a bad rap because they are usually over cooked and/or boiled. Here they’re just chopped up, thrown in raw and they really give you something to chew on.

Anyways, a friend gave me the recipe. I adapted it a bit because I didn’t have everything that the original called for or I was just too lazy. You can find the original at Dinner with Julie.

What you need:

For the salad (serves 4-6)

  • Kale (one bunch)
  • Brussels sprouts (6-10)
  • Sunflower seeds or almonds, or your nut of choice
  • Cheese (original recipe called for parmesan but I only had old cheddar kicking around)
  • Optional: some red or purple onion

For the dressing

  • 1/2 cup olive oil
  • 1/4 cup of lemon juice
  • 2 tbsp of grainy mustard
  • 1 tsp of sugar
  • 1 small clove of garlic, grated (I think this is optional. In my laziness, I left this out and it still tasted great!)
  • salt and pepper

What you do:

1. Chop the kale, removing the stalks

2. Cut the Brussels sprouts into slivers

3. Mix the dressing ingredients well in a small cup or jar and toss with the kale, Brussels sprouts, nuts/seeds and onion in a large salad bowl.

4. Top with cheese and enjoy!

This makes for a really crunchy, chewy salad that’s satisfying to eat. I told my husband that he better get used to it because it’s going to be my go to for dinner parties. And to my friend that’s coming over for a BBQ this weekend, if you’re reading this…I hope you like kale and Brussels sprouts! 🙂

Leave a Reply

