Homemade Cashew Butter

IMG_4640

If you haven’t tried cashew butter, you’ll want to get on this, asap. Seriously…this was really good.

I was inspired to make this delicious appetizer after going out for dinner at the Black Hoof, an amazing charcuterie on Dundas West, near Ossington. My husband and I had ordered the cheese platter and the cheeses always come paired with something tasty, like a chutney or in this particular case, cashew butter. I was in heaven. It was sublime.

Now don’t get your hopes up too high…the recipe that I tried doesn’t quite mimic the brilliance I had tasted at the Black Hoof, which is probably a trade secret or something. But it was still pretty good.

I got the recipe from Emeril. But I halved it because cashews are expensive and 1 cup is plenty for a dip for 10-12 people.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup unsalted, roasted cashews
  • 1 1/2 tbsp oil (vegetable, safflower, canola)
  • 1/2 tsp sugar
  • sea salt to taste (about 1/4 tsp)

What you do:

1. Put cashews in a blender with 1 tbsp of oil and blend until most of the larger chunks are blended.

2. Add the sugar and 1/4 tsp of sea salt and more oil a bit at a time until you reach the desired consistency. Note: I wanted a coarser, nuttier butter. I didn’t want it to be too smooth. If you want it smoother you can more oil, but do it a little bit at a time.

3. Taste it and add more sea salt if necessary.

I served mine with Applewood smoked cheddar and it was the hit of the party. One of my guests even said, “this is the only way to eat cheese.” Speaking of cheese, you can spread it on grilled cheese, which would be really good too. You can use cashew butter as a substitute for peanut butter, add it to curry sauces, or even put it into cookies. Or you could just eat it right out of the blender. 😉

Not that I did that.

Leave a Reply

