DIY Hooded Beach Towel

IMG_4676 IMG_4673

This proved to be another reasonably easy sewing project for the beginner that I am.

I decided to try this using only one beach towel, although most tutorials that you’ll come across say to use a bath towel and a hand towel. This would be slightly quicker with a little less sewing but I found some Canada Day beach towels on sale for $4. And seeing as they’re too big for Oliver I figured it wouldn’t hurt if I cut a foot off the end to use for the hood.

What you need:

  • a beach towel (mine was 30″ x 60″)
  • scissors
  • sewing machine

Step 1:

Cut 12 inches off one end of the beach towel. Then hem the edge of the towel (where the blue arrow is pointing in the picture).

towel1

Step 2: This leaves you with a 12″ x 30″ piece of towel that you cut off. Cut it into 2 pieces, one measuring 12″x12″ the other 12″x18″. Put the 12″x12″ aside for now and hem the 12″ side of the 12″x18″ piece. This will be the hood.

towel 2

3. Now centre and pin the 12″x18″ piece onto the towel and sew it on. It looks nice if you sew the finished 18″ edge to the towel.

towel 3

4. Fold the towel and hood piece in half, inside out and sew along the top of the hood (where the blue arrow is pointing).

towel 4

5. Turn it right side out and you’re done! 🙂 I finished off the rough edges of the left over 12″x12″ piece to make a little hand towel. All in all it’s a fun, functional little project.

It took me less than half an hour to do and for four bucks, it’s pretty cute. And Oliver loves it. Bonus. He even wanted to sleep with it! I plan on making a couple more. I think they’ll be great for the beach, pool, camping, etc…Maybe I’ll even make them as gifts (I can practically hear my sister groaning).

 

4 thoughts on “DIY Hooded Beach Towel

Leave a Reply

