Modge Podge Canvas Art

IMG_4637 copy

I’ve been wanting to try this craft for awhile because it’s so quick and easy. I’ve seen it on Pinterest done with photos but I tried it with images printed on card stock.

What you need:

  • a canvas (bought mine at the dollar store)
  • paint
  • paintbrush
  • modge podge
  • your print/photo

What you do:

1. Paint the sides and edges of the canvas. I went with black to compliment my prints.

IMG_4632

2. Print off your image/photo and cut it to fit the canvas. I printed on card stock. I think regular paper would get soggy with the modge podge.

IMG_4629 copy

3. Put a layer of modge podge on the canvas. Then place the card stock/photo on the canvas. Press it down from one end to the other, making sure you don’t have any air pockets. I learned that the hard way and had to throw out one of the canvases because once it’s on, there’s no adjusting it.

4. Put modge podge over the print/photo. I put 3 coats on it. There was a slight smearing of the ink when I put on the modge podge but it didn’t smear enough to ruin it.

IMG_4633

5. Once it’s dry it’s ready to hang.

IMG_4637

I love the way they turned out. The vintage bicycles look great next to the pictures of my grandparents and great grandparents. It’s a cheap and easy way to add some art to your walls. 🙂

3 thoughts on “Modge Podge Canvas Art

  1. Pingback: How To Display Your Kid’s Artwork – Instagram Style! | diary of an east yorker

Leave a Reply

