The Irony of Mother’s/Father’s Day

Yesterday was Father’s Day. Oliver and I showered my husband with homemade gifts and bacon and french toast for breakfast. Then we went for a bike ride to the beach, ate ice cream and played at the park. Yes, it was as fun as it sounds. 🙂

While at the playground, my husband was pushing Oliver on the swing. There was another young boy on the swing next to him and his mother was pushing him. The boy turned to her and asked, “Where’s Daddy?” to which she replied, “Daddy is in the car watching golf on his phone. Or maybe soccer.”

Seriously? As if it matters which sport he’s watching. It kind of boggles my mind that a father would rather sit in his car with his phone on a beautiful summer’s day than play with his son, especially on Father’s day. And it’s not just Dads…I know a mother that spent the entire Mother’s day and night at a hotel alone. She said it was pure bliss.

I find it so ironic that when your children are at an age when they actually want to hang out with you, you want a day away from them and when your children are older and too busy for you, you basically have to beg them to spend time with you. It’s a bit of a paradox.

Maybe I can’t relate because I only have one child. Maybe I’d be checking into the Sheraton for Mother’s day if I had three young kids at home. And don’t get me wrong, I don’t think there’s anything wrong with taking some time for yourself. It’s imperative actually. I just think that being away from your kids is a strange way to celebrate being a parent.

And all I know is…my time with Oliver seems so fleeting between work, assignments, house work, etc. Time just flies. And no matter how early I try to pick him up from day care he still spends more hours of the day with his teachers there than he does with me. Personally, I’m gonna take all the time together that I can get!

Leave a Reply

