Homemade Pear and Apple Butter

IMG_4325 So, I had never tried apple butter before making it this weekend. But seeing as I like apples and I like butter I figured how could I go wrong? And I was right. It is as delicious as it sounds and looks.

The recipe that I’m posting here is modified from two different recipes in order to make a smaller, easier, semi-healthy batch. I wanted to make a “clean” version but I didn’t completely leave out sugar because I read that it helps to extend the shelf life. I did put a lot less than some recipes call for though.

What you need: (yields approx 300ml)

– 2 large apples

– 1 pear

– 2 tbsp brown sugar

– 1 tsp of cinnamon

What to do:

1. Core the apples and pear, slice and put into slow cooker on high for 2 hours or until soft enough to mash up. You don’t have to peel them! Sweet, right? The peel is good for you and it gets blended into the mixture so you won’t even notice it.

IMG_4318

2. Transfer to a blender, add the cinnamon and brown sugar and blend until smooth. Then put it back into the slow cooker to thicken (45 min on high or 1 1/2 to 2 hours on low).

IMG_4321

3. Enjoy it while it’s warm! Yum. If you’re not sure what to do with apple butter try spreading it on toast or pancakes, putting it in oatmeal, using it as a dip for fruit or celery or as a glaze for pork or chicken.

IMG_4329

To store, pour it into an airtight container and refrigerate for up to 30 days. Check out Oh She Glows for directions on how to make a larger batch (basically you just use more apples and cook it for longer).

Otherwise, I found that this recipe makes the perfect amount for one little family. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Homemade Pear and Apple Butter

Leave a Reply

