DIY Fun Kids’ Plates Using Porcelain Pens


Like so many other people out there, Pinterest has opened up a whole new world of crafty DIYs. I’m a little bit obssessed to be honest. But that’s ok. Better to obssessed with doing crafts than say, eating. (Oh, wait…)

Anyways, when I discovered a pin of super fun kids’ plates I just had to try it. (You can find my inspiration here. How cool are these plates?) You can use a porcelain pen or a Sharpie for decorating cups, plates, etc. So far I’ve only used the pens because a) they’re made specifically for use on porcelain so I prefer them on any surface that I’ll be putting food on and b) I think that they’re more forgiving than the Sharpie. If you make a mistake you can scrape it off even after it dries (but not once you bake it, of course).

So grab your porcelain pen and your plate. I bought the pen at DeSerres for $5. I got the plate at the Dollar Store.


Draw a fun design that you stole off of Pinterest that will make your kid want to gobble up any fruit or vegetable. Who wouldn’t want to eat a strawberry off a flat bed truck? Or cucumber and tomatoes from Thomas’ train? Hell ya!

IMG_4266 copy

(I can NEVER get Thomas’ face right…oh well, Oliver knows who it is)

Then follow the instructions on the pen. The ones I have say to let it dry for 24 hours then bake it for 35 min at 150°C. After that it’s dishwasher safe!

If freehand isn’t your thing you can try stencils. Martha Stewart does a line of adhesive stencils that are made to stick to pottery, glass, etc. You can buy paints to use with them too.

Here are a couple of other things I’ve done with the porcelain pens.

IMG_3730 IMG_3728 IMG_3768 copy

So there you have it…a relatively easy, inexpensive DIY to make mealtime fun for your kids. Or have a go at making awesome personalized gifts. There’s only one problem. You’ll be wishing that you didn’t have to give them away. Like that snowflake plate…a gift for my mother-in-law. It had better be out and adorned with cookies next Christmas. :)

*UPDATE* I have recently discovered that Pebeo Porcelaine Pens are not actually food safe. :( The pen I bought doesn’t  say that it’s not and since the sales person at the store told me it was food safe and it’s water-based, I believed that it was fine. Apparently, the only food safe porcelain markers are from Germany,

I apologize for misleading anyone that has come across this post!


10 thoughts on “DIY Fun Kids’ Plates Using Porcelain Pens

  1. What type of pens are you using? I thought I bought the one pictured to use but it says it is not food safe. So let me know. Thanks!

  2. Thanks for posting the link to the food-safe pens! My daughter is having an Alice in Wonderland tea party for her birthday and wants to do this as an activity but I was worried about the food-safe issue. Now I can buy these markers and feel confident about using them.

Leave a Reply

