Damn You Procrastination…Why Are You So Fun?

Ok, here’s the deal. I have a paper due on Tuesday. It’s the final paper of my Foundations of Applied Disability course and it’s worth 35% of my grade. The good news…I’ve started it. The bad news…I’m typing this post right now instead of working on it.

I’ve always been a procrastinator. I’m pretty sure that 99% of the population indulges in procrastination on a regular basis. I’ve never met anyone that finishes assignments early or isn’t looking for at least one Christmas present a few days before Christmas. If I have met anyone like that, I’ve repressed it.

tumblr_lk7243c4oT1qbql2jo1_500

This cute and frightfully accurate little cartoon totally sums up my current situation. Basically I should be in Stage 5 right now but I’m actually loitering around in Stages 3, and 4. I was just in Stage 5 three weeks ago with my last assignment before making a smooth transition into Stage 6.

I think that it’s a little tragic that I’m aware of my procrastination problem and am CLEARLY not doing anything about it. Maybe I’m in the Feigning Apathy Stage which should go between 4 and 5. It’s not that I don’t care about my paper. It’s just way more fun to write this post, play with Oliver, browse Pinterest, or make Oliver an owl t-shirt…

I often think about the irony of being a champion procrastinator AND being a teacher. I feel like such a hypocrite teaching my students about time management and making responsible choices. The truth is, once you’re an adult you can and DO procrastinate all the time. Telling kids that they need to learn how to manage their time is like telling them that they have to eat their healthy snacks/food before they can have dessert. I’m not gonna lie…when I get home from work 9 times out of 10 an apple is the lonely occupant of my lunch bag…the chocolately Fibre 1 bar is no where to be found. It’s not my fault that apples don’t go well with tea…

So, now I’m wishing that my husband wasn’t following my blog because he thinks I’m working on my paper right now, hence why I couldn’t help with the dishes…and if I publish this post he’ll know that I’m having a fling with procrastination. Damn you procrastination…why are you so fun? I can’t say no to you. Just try not to ruin my marriage, ok?

Leave a Reply

