Easy DIY Beeswax Moisturizer

IMG_4116

One of my goals in life is to cut out all products that contain the ingredient “parfum”, “fragrance” or “phthalates”. Hence my earlier homemade deodorant post. These ingredients contain thousands of chemicals that can wreak havoc on the body. What’s worse is that they aren’t even tested and manufacturers don’t have to disclose which chemicals are used to the consumer. For more info click on over to David Suzuki’s web site.

So…toxic free deodorant, check. Next up, moisturizer. In my search for a homemade moisturizer I came across this one at A Sonoma Garden. Until very recently, I had never attempted to make my own toiletries before so I wanted something simple and this one fit the bill. I modified the ratio of olive oil to the beeswax and coconut oil to thicken it up a bit.

Ok, that’s a lie.

I didn’t follow the directions properly and ended up with a thicker moisturizer. But hey, I’m happy with the results.

You’ll need 3 things:

1/2 cup Olive oil

1/2 cup coconut oil

1/2 cup beeswax

IMG_4112

As you can tell from my photo, I could not find beeswax pastilles anywhere and wasn’t about to order them online. But when I was in Grassroots I found pure beeswax votives which just happen to be perfect for this.

This is what you do:

1) Pour the olive oil into a glass jar (preferably one you will use to keep the moisturizer in afterwards)

2) Add the coconut oil and beeswax (you can grate or cut up the beeswax…I’m pretty sure I got a bit of the wick in my moisturizer, oops!)

3) Put the jar in a pot and fill it with water (about 3/4 of the way up the glass jar, but don’t get water in the jar)

4) Place on low to medium heat until contents are melted, stirring occasionally

5) Once melted, remove from heat and stir frequently while it thickens

That’s all there is to it. You can add essence oils but personally I quite like the subtle smell of beeswax. I find the cream is a little greasy when I first put it on but it gets absorbed pretty quickly. If you’re serious about trying this, I highly recommend checking out the instructions at A Sonoma Garden. She’s got great photos of the process and then you can decide how oily you want to make it too (her method calls for 1 cup olive oil).

I wouldn’t use this moisturizer on my face but at the risk of sounding like a cheesy commercial, it makes my hands feel silky soft.

I love that it’s easy to make and that it only contains three easy to pronounce, won’t mess with my hormones  ingredients. And I’m making David Suzuki proud. Bonus.

2 thoughts on “Easy DIY Beeswax Moisturizer

Leave a Reply

