2 Ingredient Banana “Ice Cream”

IMG_4124

Oh bananas…is there anything you can’t do? You make delicious cookies when mixed with oats, liven up my avocado fruit pudding and you turn into ice cream when frozen! Amazing!

Ok, so this isn’t exactly ice cream. In fact the recipe doesn’t call for any dairy products. It’s just bananas and cocoa powder. I know…get outta town, right? When I came across this recipe at userealbutter.com I was astounded. I had no idea that frozen bananas would turn into creamy goodness resembling a Wendy’s frosty. Why had no one told me this before?

Here’s what you do:

Cut up 4 ripe bananas into thin slices and then freeze them. Once frozen, stick the slices into a food processor or blender (FYI…the Magic Bullet doesn’t work that well for this but I make do).

IMG_4120

Blend until you reach creamy goodness consistency. Add 2 tsp of cocoa powder.

IMG_4123

And that’s it. I’ve yet to try it with peanut butter but I bet that would be tasty too. You could try adding maple syrup, or nuts…there are so many possibilities. Personally, I think it’s best when eaten right away because once you freeze it, it loses that creamy consistency and becomes more like hard ice cream.

IMG_4132

It’s still good frozen though! Needless to say Oliver loves it. Of course I tell him it’s “ice cream” and he’s none the wiser. And when he asks for seconds, I always oblige. It’s just bananas after all.

4 thoughts on “2 Ingredient Banana “Ice Cream”

  1. Pingback: Lymeville | My Lyme Life

  2. I have a Nutribullet and would like to blend frozen bananas like you did. Was it difficult to do? I’m trying to decide if I want to spend money on a food processor just to make this :p

    • I’ve asked myself the same question…I’m always keeping my eye out for a sale on a food processor. It is a little bit trying to use the blender, particularly because the tall cup is so narrow so you have to keep stopping to mix it with a spoon to get it all blended. But i’ve heard that the NutriBullet is better than the Magic Bullet so it might not be so bad. Let me know if you try it and how it goes!

      • Hi, I actually found this video demonstrating it: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DW6mWwWXCdU,
        and it looks pretty strenuous…like I wouldn’t want to do that regularly and risk damaging the machine or myself :). And since I like using just pure bananas and no liquid (I used to make it all the time when I had a processor), I decided to get a cheap processor (~30 bucks) and figure it’ll be worth it.

Leave a Reply

