Homemade Deodorant

IMG_4110

As my tag line for my blog says, I’m slowly getting a clue about life. My son, Oliver has played a big role in some of the changes that I’m making, like reverting to a past life as a pioneer. Suddenly now that I have a little person to care for I’ve decided that I need to take better care of myself. And the next thing you know I’m making my own deodorant, moisturizer and shampoo (the latter two to be featured in future posts!) What’s next? Churning butter? Washing clothes on a wash board? No…never…that’s WAY too much manual labour.

Anyways, back to the deodorant. Luckily, I’m not a pioneer and this was super easy to make and surprisingly effective. I mean, it’s even better than store bought. I’ve been using it for 3 days now and not even a hint of BO. And, bonus, the arm pits of my shirts don’t smell like the deodorant. I hated that about store bought stuff. Oh yeah, and the aluminum that might cause cancer…hated that too.

I found the “recipe” at Wellness Mama. It’s just three ingredients: coconut oil, baking soda and cornstarch.

IMG_4109

Mix 1/4 cup baking soda with 1/4 cup cornstarch. Mash in 6 Tbsp of coconut oil. That’s it.

I happened to have an old deodorant container lying around so I packed some of it in there and put the rest in a jar for later. It does go on a little wet but it’s not uncomfortable. Now I’m not one of those girls that just glistens…I sweat. And so far it’s passed the test. I haven’t worked out while wearing it though. Don’t hold your breath for that post.

Leave a Reply

