IMG_20130202_204658

So I thought this would be a good post to begin my blog diary seeing as my wedding was a DIY project/learning experience. And it signified a new chapter in my life.

My husband, Steve and I got married on my Aunts’/Grandparents’ property. They have a sprawling, cottage-like backyard – a perfect setting for a initmate DIY wedding. We were strapped for cash (as usual) and wanted to spend the bulk of our wedding fund on the honeymoon…let’s face it, that’s the most important part of getting married. 😉 I’m also not the kind of girl that’s been dreaming about my wedding since I was a fetus. I’m more of a no frills, what you see is what you get, kind of girl. Hence the backyard, BBQ, bonfire wedding theme.

We did rent tables, chairs and dinnerware. I fancied up the tables with a burlap runner. I found the burlap at a fabric store (I initally went to Home Depot and when I told the adolescent male sales associate what the burlap was for, he looked at me strangely and asked me if I was having a “medieval” wedding!). I used mason jars with flowers from the garden for centre pieces and citronella tea lites. For name place holders I shaved off one side of a wine cork so it would sit flat and then made a slit in the top for the name card.

IMG_20130401_195238 IMG_20130401_195319 IMG_20130401_195416IMG_20130401_195448

My husband and I took a trip to Niagara-on-the-Lake prior to the wedding and hit up a few of our favourite vineyards to stock up on wine and champagne for the wedding. We also bought a selection of our favourite Ontario craft beers and stuck ’em in a few coolers.

A few of our friends and family brought tents and we camped out that night after dancing around the campfire, under the stars. I must say, it was nice that we put in a lot of hard work preparing the property and all the little details of the day. It was nice to have only our closest friends and family there too because then we actually got a chance to visit with everyone.  It was a truly special day.

DIY Wedding: Backyard BBQ Bonfire Style

Leave a Reply

